Carlton Football Club

Carlton Football Club, also known as Blues, is a prestigious Australian Football Club. The club is located at North Carlton. They are the most successful AFL team, winning the championship 16 times.

In this article, we will learn everything you need to know about Carlton Football Club.

Carlton Football Club History

In July 1864, the Carlton Football Club was formed. As a result of its competitive nature, this club attracted loyal fans in its early days. It became a fierce rival of Melbourne Football Club in early competitions.

The club produced one of the first superstar players ever, George Coulthard. No player had ever affected the pitch in such a significant way before him.

He was known as the greatest player of the day.

The club has a rich history dating back almost 150 years. Hundreds of young men proudly wore the jerseys of this prestigious club from the days of the Challenge Cup through the Victoria Football Association competition.

In its early years, Carlton played in three championships against South Australian opponents in 1907, 1908, and 1914 and was beaten by South Australian opponents on all three occasions.

In the 1940s, Carlton participated in two more Grand Finals against Essendon, winning them both times. They won 1947 by the barest of margins, with only one point.

The 1960s, 1970s, and 1980s were their golden period; the club saw the most success in its history.

During 1967–1988, Carlton missed the finals only three times, competed in ten grand finals, and won seven premierships.

Carlton became the first team to win twenty matches in a home-and-away season, finishing with a record of 20-2, and it also achieved its sixteenth premiership in 1995, which is a record that is still not broken.

They won their last championship against Geelong in the Grand Final in 1995.


Currently, the uniforms worn by the players of the Carlton Guernsey club are plain navy blue. An emblazoned CFC monogram can be found on its front, and white numbers can be found on its back.

In the CFC monogram, the letters stand for “Carlton Football Club.”

There has not been a significant change to the Guernseys since 1909. Only the monogram on the front has changed. Rather than that, it is almost the same as before.

Historically, the club has worn navy blue uniforms since 1871. From then on, the team’s cap had a yellow and orange color scheme.

The Guernsey was designed and manufactured by Puma and Nike over the years. The club’s uniforms were manufactured by Nike from 1998 until the end of 2019, while from 2020 until at least 2029, Puma will manufacture the club’s clothing.

When the team plays away from home, they wear white shorts.

Over the past few years, there have been several changes in the Clash Guernsey design, but the predominant color has remained white, along with a navy blue monogram, numbers, and some trimmings.

Home Grounds

The Carlton Football Club’s official home ground is Princess Park, also known as Ikon Park. The ground is located in North Carlton.

Back in the days when Carlton Club was joining the VFL, they were struggling to find ground. Later, they established that Princes Park would be their home ground.

From 1897 to 2004, they used this ground as their home turf and played most of their matches here.

In 2005, they shifted their home ground to Docklands Stadium and the Melbourne Cricket Ground. They shifted to this ground because they wanted more crowd capacity.

From 2005 to 2014, most of the matches happened at Docklands Stadium, and from 2015 until now, the matches have taken place at Melbourne Cricket Ground.

Nowadays, Princes Park is used as a training facility and administrative base for the team.

Carlton Football Club’s Current AFL Squad

Senior List

  1. Jack Silvagni
  2. Paddy Dow
  3. Jesse Motlop
  4. Adam Cerra
  5. Zac Williams
  6. Matthew Kennedy
  7. Lachie Fogarty
  8. Patrick Cripps (c)
  9. Harry McKay
  10. Mitch McGovern
  11. Tom De Koning
  12. Blake Acres
  13. Oliver Hollands
  14. Sam Docherty
  15. Jack Carroll
  16. Brodie Kemp
  17. Sam Walsh
  18. Corey Durdin
  19. Lachie Plowman
  20. Jack Martin
  21. Caleb Marchbank
  22. Jacob Weitering
  23. Nic Newman
  24. Zac Fisher
  25. Lachlan Cowan
  26. Marc Pittonet
  27. David Cuningham
  28. George Hewett
  29. Charlie Curnow
  30. Harry Lemmey
  31. Jaxon Binns
  32. Lewis Young
  33. Sam Philp
  34. Josh Honey
  35. Adam Saad
  36. Matt Owies

Rookie List

  1. Lochie O’Brien
  2. Ed Curnow
  3. Jordan Boyd
  4. Sam Durdin
  5. Alex Cincotta
  6. Hudson O’Keeffe
  7. Domanic Akuei (B)
  8. Alex Mirkov
  9. Matthew Cottrell

Coaching Staff

Head Coach

  • Michael Voss

Assistant Coaches

  • Aaron Hamill (Backline)
  • Tim Clarke (Fidfield)
  • Ashley Hansen (Forwards)
  • Luke Power (Head of Development)
  • Daniel O’Keefe (Development/Reserves)
  • Matthew Kreuzer (Ruck)
  • Aaron Greaves (Coaching and innovation manager)
  • Torin Baker (Development)

Administrative Board


  • Luke Sayers

Board Members

  • Craig Mathieson 
  • David Campbell 
  • Patty Kinnersly 
  • Greg Williams
  • Robert Priestly 
  • Lahra Carey 
  • Tim Lincoln

Chief Executive Officers

  • Jim Allison – (1980–1981)
  • Ian Collins – (1981–1993)
  • Stephen Gough – (1994–1999)
  • John Gurrieri – 2000
  • Don Hanly – (2001–2002)
  • Michael Malouf – (2003–2007)
  • Greg Swann – (2007–2014)
  • Steven Trigg – (2014–2017)
  • Cain Liddle – (2017–2021)
  • Brian Cook – (2021–present)


Kit Sponsor

  • Puma
  • Nike

Major Sponsors

  • Bertolli
  • Hyundai
  • Mayne
  • Toshiba Home Theatre
  • Dan Murphy’s (Home) Yes Optus (Away)
  • Hyundai (Home) Yes Optus (Away)
  • Hyundai (Home) Malaysia Truly Asia (Away)
  • Hyundai (Home) Mars (Away)
  • Hyundai (Home) CareerOne (Away)
  • Hyundai (Home) Virgin Australia (Away)
  • Hyundai (Home) Great Southern Bank (Away)

Short Sponsors

  • Brashs
  • Delta Car Rental
  • Hyundai
  • Mayne
  • Mediplan
  • K & S
  • Visy Industries
  • Yes Optus
  • Acquire Learning
  • CareerOne
  • La Trobe University


Despite their poor form in recent times, the Carlton Football Club still has the highest number of AFL Championship winners.

From the early ages, since their beginning in 1864, they were one of the most well-decorated clubs in history.

Golam Muktadir is a passionate sports fan and a dedicated movie buff. He has been writing about both topics for over a decade and has a wealth of knowledge and experience to share with his readers. Muktadir has a degree in journalism and has written for several well-known publications, including Surprise Sports.